Are you in need of a Learner’s permit and driver training? Our CMSC Driving School has got you covered. CMSC Driving School is licensed by the State of Massachusetts through the Department of Transportation and Registry of Motor Vehicles. 

CMSC Driving School will accommodate all of your training and licensing needs. We are a customer service-oriented company, and we do whatever it takes to make your experience positive, convenient, instructional, and affordable.

For more than ten years, Massachusetts Driving School has been offering excellent driver education at a reasonable cost. The main objective of our driver is to be safe and cautious. We offer training for both Adults and teens. 

How Many Days Are Required for Driving School in Massachusetts?

Our Teen program includes 30 hours of classroom time, 12 hours of driving, and 2 hours of parent classes. Aside from seamless 24/7 online scheduling, road sessions are available 7 days a week with flexible pick-up and drop-off times.

Additionally, our program provides flexible options for classroom scheduling, such as options for weekends, after-school activities, and school vacations.

How much does the License Cost in MA?

Standard costs are incurred: The fees for the learner’s permit exam are $30, the road test is $35, and the Class D driver’s license is $50. Applicants are encouraged by the RMV to pay online at Mass.Gov/myRMV in advance.

Learn Massachusetts rules correctly so that you can easily pass the learner’s permit exam. Before you plan for a road test, practice driving in a vehicle with a licensed driver. Make sure you understand how to operate the vehicle, hand signals, directional signs, and on and off switches.

How long can I drive on an Indian license in Massachusetts?

The process is very similar to applying for a Class D permit and a Class D license. For a maximum of one year following their arrival in the United States, international visitors from any of the nations included in the 1949 Road Traffic Convention list may drive a vehicle using their foreign driver’s license. In Massachusetts, if you are a visitor from another country and you have a valid driver’s license from your home country, you are allowed to drive for up to one year. After that, you must obtain a valid Massachusetts driver’s license. This applies to those with a valid Indian driver’s license as well. To obtain a Massachusetts driver’s license, you must first take and pass a written test.

Massachusetts Driver’s License Requirements

  • Be a minimum of 16.5 years old.
  • Evidence of legal residency or citizenship
  • Social Security number (SSN verification for actual identity)
  • Evidence of Massachusetts residency (two REAL ID forms)
  • Massachusetts learner’s permit (has to pass an online exam and vision screening)
  • passed the RMV driving test (a sponsor and a suitable vehicle are needed).
  • completed the final exam and driver education program approved by the RMV (only for drivers under 18)

How to Apply for Your Junior Operator License (JOL) in Massachusetts?

As per the junior operator license law, the applicant should be between 16 ½ and 18 years old to receive this type of license. It allows them to drive unsupervised but with some restrictions. These restrictions will be removed when you complete 6 months or you turn 18, whatever comes first:

  • Driving with anyone under the age of eighteen (except members of your immediate family) is prohibited unless supervised by at least a 21-year-old with at least 1 year of driving experience who holds a valid driver’s license, and is sitting beside you.
  • No driving between 12:30 a.m. and 5:00 a.m. unless it is accompanied by your parent or legal guardian.
  • No use of mobile if there is no emergency
  • Maintain a learner’s permit for 6 months minimum and keep your driving record clean during this period. 
  • Complete your driver’s education and get your certificate.

You can complete it at a public high school or the professional driving school (RMV).   The teen driver’s ed also includes the required 6 hours of observation lessons, 12 hrs of driving, 30 hours of classroom, and 2-hour parent classes.

  • Complete 40 hours of supervised driving

Provide a certified statement that is confirmed by your parent/guardian. After you have completed a driver skills development program, the RMV will accept 30 hours of driving under the supervision of a parent or guardian.

  • Your guardian/parent must complete 2 hours of instructions.

Your guardian/parent is required to complete 2 hours of instruction on the driver’s education curriculum.

  • Pay the fee

Pay $35. You can pay these fees using the Pay My Road Test and/or License Feestransaction before taking the road test. If you have paid the fee, your driver’s license will be automatically sent to you. After passing the road test, you will not need to visit the RMV service center.

  • Schedule your road test online

You can schedule your road test by calling the RMV Automated Service Line at 866-MASSRMV (866-627-7768). Test rescheduling or cancellation is possible online or via the RMV. There will be no extra charges if you notify more than 72 hours in advance.

  • Bring required documents
  • A filled-out application for a road test (the parental consent section needs to be completed by your guardian/parent).
  • Lerner’s permit
  • Pass the road test

Arrive with a fully licensed sponsor who is at least 21 years old and has 1 year of driving experience with a legally registered vehicle for the test. You can reschedule the test if you don’t pass the exam but remember you can’t take more than 6 road tests in a year.

  • Get the license

Your learner’s permit will become your temporary driver’s license as soon as the examiner stamps the back if you pass the test. Your permanent license will arrive within four weeks in the mail. If it is not received after four weeks, contact the RMV Contact Center.

How to Apply for Your Adult Massachusetts Driver’s License?

If you are 18 years old or above and hold a valid Massachusetts learner’s permit, you can apply for a driver’s license. Passing the road test is a requirement to obtain this license.

  • Schedule your road test online

call the RMV Automated Service Line at 866-MASSRMV (866-627-7768) to schedule your road test. You can cancel or reschedule the test online or through the RMV Contact Center. No additional fee is required if you notify 72 hours in advance. The examiner may cancel road tests due to inclement weather.

  • Pay the fees

Pay $35 by using the Pay My Road Test and/or License Feestransaction before or after taking the road test. If you have paid the fee, the RMV will automatically send your driver’s license to you. Visiting the RMV service center is not required after passing the road test.

  • Bring required documentation
  • Completed road test application
  • Lerner’s permit

Take note that additional documentation could be needed if you obtained your learner’s permit before March 26, 2018. You must provide documentation of your citizenship or legal status in the country. Before setting a time or starting the road test, supply this. You can submit this online or at an RMV Service Center while applying for a standard driver’s license. You have to present it at an RMV Service Center when you apply for a REAL ID driver’s license.

  • Pass the road test

Bring a sponsor who is at least 21 years old, fully licensed, and has at least one year of driving experience. Holders with foreign licenses are not permitted to serve as sponsors. For the test, you have to arrive in a vehicle that is lawfully registered and equipped appropriately. You can reschedule for a later time if you don’t pass the exam, but you can’t take more than six road tests in a year.

  • Get the license

After passing the test, the examiner will stamp the back of your learner’s permit and it will become your temporary driver’s license. The permanent license will arrive in 4 weeks through email. If your age is 21 and still have a photo on file from when you were under 21, you will need to visit a service center to obtain your license.

Preparing for the Massachusetts Road Test

Before the test starts, you will have around five minutes to become familiarised with the state vehicle and its controls.

Make sure to at your appointment at least fifteen minutes early. The inspector will inspect your vehicle before the test. During the road exam, you will need to prove your abilities and expertise in:

  • Parallel park
  • Start and stop the vehicle
  • Use hand signals
  • Back the vehicle about 50 feet
  • Make left- and right-hand turns
  • Three-point turn
  • Enter and exit intersections
  • Recognize and obey street signs
  • Start, stop, and turn the vehicle on a hill
  • Maintain sufficient distance from other vehicles
  • Safely change lanes while signaling
  • Yield the right-of-way
  • Use good sense while driving


Q. Who issues Massachusetts driver’s licenses?

Ans – The Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles (RMV) is the organization that issues Massachusetts licenses.

Q. Can you renew your license online in Massachusetts?

Ans. If your driver’s license is not suspended or revoked and you have no pending EZ-Pass violations or parking citations, you can renew it online at Mass.Gov/RMV.

Q. How long is your first Massachusetts driver’s license valid for?

Ans. A Massachusetts standard license is valid for five years. For $10 each year, you can select a term under five years if you have a Class D (passenger) or Class M (motorcycle) license.

Q. What age can you get your license in MA?

Ans – The Massachusetts driving age is 16 ½  years old. You must be at least 16 years old to get a Mass learner’s permit. A junior operator license has limitations for licensed drivers under the age of 18.

Q. How long do I have to transfer my license in MA?

Ans – You must complete the Massachusetts RMV out-of-license transfer procedure as soon as become a resident of MA.

Q. How much does a driver’s license cost in Massachusetts?

Ans – For a five-year license, the cost of a Massachusetts driver’s license is $50, if you prefer a shorter term of issue, the fee is $10 each year. This is the price of a typical Class D passenger license. See below for MA driver’s license fees –

  • Class D license costs $50 for a 5-year license.
  • Motorcycle Licenses cost $50 for a 5-year license.
  • Yearly license fee (if less than 5 years) costs $10 for a 1-year license.
  • Duplicate MA license costs $25 
  • Out-of-state license conversion costs $115 for a 5-year license.
  • A learner’s permit application costs $30 for a 2-year license.
  • License application & road test costs $35.